Why doesn’t a batter get an RBI if he hits into a double play? The run still scores as a direct result of the batter hitting the ball and I’m pretty sure that is the definition of a “run batted in.” I understand not getting an RBI due to an error because you can theorize that the run resulted more from the error than the hit. But that logic can’t be transferred to the double play. The run isn’t a result of the double play. It isn’t because the defense chose the double play over getting the runner out at home? That makes no sense and a batter can get an RBI for other plays officially scored “fielder’s choice.” Is it because two outs are made? That makes no sense. I can’t think of any reason for this. It’s bad enough for a player to GIDP, at least they can give him the RBI he deserves.
It's beyond stupid that the team from winning league in the All Star game gets home field advantage in the World Series. This is possibly the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard of. Winning is secondary to making sure as many players get in the game and home team players play as many innings as possible. Starters are going two innings. Some players don’t even go to the game. The teams aren’t the best possible collection of players because every team needs a representative. The starters are picked on popularity and not performance. Even if the best players are chosen to start, when the game is being decided in the late innings, they are already out of the game. And most importantly, it’s a damn exhibition game!!!! Coin flip, best record, interleague records, alternating advantage…anything would be better than this stupid rule.
There are too many rules limiting the use of approved equipment. Here are two examples that should be abolished:
- A fielder cannot throw his glove at a batted ball in an attempt to change the path of ball. Why the hell not? If you are so good that you can throw your glove at a ball travelling at speeds of over 100 MPH with such precision that you can hit the ball and redirect in a direction that makes fielding it easier, not only should it be allowed it should be rewarded with some sort of trophy at the end of the year for the player that is most successful.
- A catcher may not use his facemask to field the ball. This rule is not enforced much anymore since the catchers are using the hockey style mask more and more, but on numerous occasions in the past, the most recent being this last season, I’ve seen a baserunner awarded advancement of one base after a catcher used his facemask to drag a ball on the ground back into his area after receiving a pitch in the dirt. Most of the time the runner is not attempting to advance and the use of the mask isn’t giving the catcher any sort of advantage. Usually the catcher is just being lazy. I don’t understand this rule and I can’t think of any reason why it should be enforced any longer.